<

 

Project Skylark · SEL-101

Confidential Information Summary

Sale of 100% equity in a licensed light-aircraft manufacturer, southern India · Blind, pre-NDA · CA Dhiraj Ostwal & Co. — Transaction Advisory

34.3%FY25 gross margin, from 20.6% in FY22
₹5.15 CrFY25 revenue, −2.8% on FY24
₹22.7 L · 4.4%FY25 EBITDA, reported
₹2.85 CrOrder book, management, 29 May 2026
01

Executive summary

Skylark designs, assembles and builds light sport aircraft and related products in a leased unit in southern India. Its position rests on a manufacturing approval that management says covers microlight aircraft and powered hang gliders.

Gross margin rose from 20.6% to 34.3% over FY22–FY25, but EBITDA is thin at 4.4% because family remuneration of ₹63.6 lakh exceeds EBITDA of ₹22.7 lakh. The promoter, the sole shareholder, offers 100% of the equity and all four directors exit.

The seller's own materials quote higher margins than the audited accounts show. This document uses the audited accounts only.

At a glance
Revenue FY25₹515.2 L
Revenue CAGR FY23–FY256.8%
Export share FY252.6%
Net worth FY25₹(46.3) L
Bank borrowingsNil
Permanent staff11
Offer100% equity

Basis of preparation. Audited standalone accounts, reported figures, ₹ lakh, EBITDA before other income, depreciation and finance cost. FY25 is the latest audited year, signed 22 September 2025.

The balance sheet is 18.5 months old; FY26 closed on 31 March 2026 and is not covered here. The order book and FY26 sales are management's, unaudited.

02

Investment highlights

1

Margin has moved up three years running

Gross margin was 20.6%, 29.4%, 30.4% and 34.3% from FY22 to FY25.

34.3% FY25 gross margin
2

Licensed manufacturing position

Management states the company holds a regulator's manufacturing approval for two aircraft categories; the certificate comes with the data room.

2 licensed categories, management-stated
3

One in-house product line

Wooden and carbon propellers for sport aircraft, UAVs and target drones are made in the unit rather than bought in.

50+ propeller varieties, published range
4

Self-funded, profitable since FY24

EBITDA turned positive in FY24 with no bank debt and no working-capital line, per the auditor's report.

EBITDA ₹18.8 L → ₹22.7 L
5

Order cover and a clean handover

Management reports an order book equal to 55% of FY25 revenue; the owner family exits fully.

₹2.85 Cr order book, unaudited
03

Business overview

The company sells a broad catalogue, but only part of it is built from raw material in the unit. Imported engines, wings and kits are assembled or resold alongside.

Microlight aircraft and powered hang gliders

Kit-built and licensed-design assembly, shipped worldwide.

Paramotors and trikes

Stainless-steel trike frames fitted with imported engines and wings.

Propellers

UAV, target-drone and sport-aircraft propellers; the one proprietary line.

Servicing and spares

Maintenance and spares for armed-forces and cadet users, per management.

R&D and job work

Projects for defence research laboratories and custom turbines, per management.

Trading

Wings, engines, spares and accessories bought in and resold.

Domestic, FY2597.4%
Export, FY252.6%
Export, FY2216.4%
FY22Revenue ₹3.35 Cr; exports 16% of sales
FY23Revenue +34.9%; long-term loans cut from ₹187.8 L to ₹23.2 L
FY24Revenue peak ₹5.30 Cr; first cash flow statement
FY25Gross margin 34.3%; EBITDA ₹22.7 L
FY25Exports ₹13.4 L, 3.0× FY24
May 2026Order book ₹2.85 Cr, management
04

Business model & economics

Aircraft are built to order and customers pay part of the price in advance. Servicing, spares, trading and R&D are not reported separately in the accounts.

Domestic sales FY25₹501.8 L

97.4% of revenue, down 4.5% on FY24.

Export FY25₹13.4 L

2.6% of revenue; FY22 was ₹55.0 lakh.

Revenue lines reported2

Domestic and export only; product split comes post-NDA.

Customer advances swung between ₹8.9 lakh and ₹68.9 lakh across four year-ends, so order timing drives cash more than profit does.

Working-capital cycle, days
  FY22 FY23 FY24 FY25
Receivable days (on revenue) 10.5 24.1 2.2 16.7
Inventory days (on COGS) 11.9 24.4 26.1 29.8
Payable days (on purchases) 44.6 38.5 48.2 38.3
Cash cycle before advances (22.2) 10.0 (19.9) 8.2
Customer advances, ₹ lakh 68.9 8.9 61.9 28.7
05

Customer mix & concentration

Management names three customer groups: sport flyers, institutional users in the defence ecosystem, and trade accounts for wings, engines and spares. Repeat institutional demand is said to come from servicing and spares.

No customer-level data exists in the files supplied. The masked top-twenty customer table, concentration tiers and revenue by customer type will be released in the data room. Nothing is estimated here.

The audited accounts show channel only: 97.4% domestic, 2.6% export in FY25. Between FY24 and FY25 domestic sales fell ₹23.6 lakh and exports rose ₹9.0 lakh.

The base, in numbers
Export share FY25 / FY222.6% / 16.4%
Receivables under 6 months96.9%
Bad debts FY25 / FY24₹2.1 L / ₹5.3 L
Customer advances / revenue FY255.6%
Foreign-currency spend / revenue40.2%

What a buyer should test

Whether a few large orders drive revenue; the audited ledger cannot answer this, and the customer-wise sales register will.

06

Financial snapshot

Revenue grew to FY24 and slipped in FY25, while profit after tax stayed small in every year.

Revenue from operations, ₹ lakh
Single series; FY25 in accent. FY22 is not like-for-like (see section 07). 334.8FY22 451.6FY23 529.8FY24 515.2FY25
Table-view twin: the profit and loss table below.

Revenue CAGR is 6.8% over FY23–FY25; the 15.5% FY22–FY25 figure includes a year affected by a demerger.

Profit and loss, ₹ lakh, audited
  FY22 FY23 FY24 FY25
Revenue from operations 334.8 451.6 529.8 515.2
Cost of goods sold 265.9 319.0 368.7 338.3
Employee cost 36.9 94.9 106.0 110.4
Admin and other 31.0 37.8 36.4 43.7
EBITDA 1.0 (0.2) 18.8 22.7
Other income 11.1 25.8 3.4 0.8
Depreciation and finance cost 15.3 9.6 11.6 8.6
Profit before tax (3.2) 16.1 10.6 14.9
Profit after tax (2.5) 11.5 7.7 11.0
FY24 as per the FY24 signed accounts. Columns may differ from totals by 0.1 for rounding.
Balance sheet, 31 March 2025, ₹ lakh
Net block17.3
Inventory27.6
Receivables23.6
Cash6.4
Director loans (long-term)19.2
Employee payable42.7
Trade payables30.6
Net worth(46.3)

Weakest metric: net worth of ₹(46.3) lakh. Current ratio is 0.57, and debt-like items of ₹90.6 lakh (director loans, employee payable, customer advances) sit against cash of ₹6.4 lakh.

07

Quality of earnings

EBITDA here is revenue less cost of goods sold, employee cost and admin and other expenses, with no add-backs taken.

Gross margin and EBITDA margin, % of revenue
Two series on one axis, baseline zero.
Gross margin   EBITDA margin
20.60.3FY22 29.40.0FY23 30.43.5FY24 34.34.4FY25
Table-view twin: the margin bridge below.

Gross margin gained 13.8 points from FY22 to FY25 but EBITDA gained only 4.1, because employee cost rose from 11.0% to 21.4% of revenue once family pay entered the books.

Margin bridge and add-back assessment, % of revenue unless stated
  FY22 FY23 FY24 FY25
COGS 79.4 70.6 69.6 65.7
Employee cost 11.0 21.0 20.0 21.4
Admin and other 9.3 8.4 6.9 8.5
EBITDA 0.3 (0.0) 3.5 4.4
Family remuneration, ₹ lakh n/a 37.8 51.7 63.6
EBITDA before family remuneration, ₹ lakh n/a 37.6 70.5 86.3
Not added back: family pay (a buyer must replace the management it pays for), bad debts, commission, forex. Other income, including ₹18.5 lakh of liabilities written back in FY23, sits below EBITDA. EBITDA before family pay is 16.8% in FY25 and is not a normalised figure.
Cash and leverage, ₹ lakh
Operating cash flow FY24 / FY2510.4 / (7.7)
Of which director-loan movement(20.9) / +16.9
Operating cash flow before loans31.3 / (24.6)
Capex FY23 / FY24 / FY251.3 / 2.9 / nil
Net director loans over cash12.8 (0.6× EBITDA)
Finance cost FY252.6 (bank charges)

Perimeter and recency

Accounts are standalone; no subsidiaries are reported. FY22 carries a ₹137.1 lakh demerger receivable collected in FY23. The latest balance sheet is 18.5 months old, and FY26 accounts are outstanding.

Related-party transactions are limited to four directors' salaries; the family board is the only related-party cost disclosed.

08

Management & organisation

Four family members form the board and the promoter holds all the equity. Eleven permanent staff and contract workers deliver the output.

Board and remuneration, ₹ lakh
Role FY24 FY25
Promoter-Director (1), sole shareholder 18.0 24.0
Director (2) 13.3 13.2
Director (3) 13.2 13.2
Director (4), joined FY24 7.2 13.2
Total 51.7 63.6
Operating roles of Directors (2) to (4) are not stated in the documents.

Employee payable of ₹42.7 lakh equals 4.6 months of employee cost. The auditor's opinion on FY25 is unmodified.

Key-man dependence. Management's materials present the promoter as head of the business, and no approval, supplier right or customer contact is yet shown to sit with the company independently of him. Since every director exits, the handover design is a first-order deal term.

09

M&A proposition

The offer is the whole company, sold by its sole shareholder, with the board leaving at completion.

Why now · exports2.6%

Export share is far below FY22's 16.4%.

Why now · margin34.3%

Gross margin is at a four-year high.

Why now · orders55%

Management's order book against FY25 revenue.

Aerospace or UAV component maker

Adds licensed light-aircraft capability and a propeller line.

Defence-ecosystem integrator

Gains in-house propellers and R&D job-work capacity.

Operator-led buyer

Brings the management team that the exit removes.

Transaction parameters
Structure100% share sale
SellerSole promoter shareholder
ManagementAll four directors exit
Assets per sellerMachinery, tools, drawings, inventory
Debt-like items₹90.6 L, to be priced
PriceDiscussed post-NDA
Value-creation levers, management's view
Export distribution2.6% base
Propeller and UAV lineIn-house
Dealer networkOwners only today
Online pricing and enquiriesNone published

Management's ambitions of tripling revenue and reaching 50% exports are its own, are not forecasts, are not validated by the adviser and carry no weight in valuation until tested.

Use of proceeds. A 100% share sale pays the selling shareholder; no cash enters the company. Settlement of the ₹90.6 lakh of debt-like items belongs in the price mechanism.

10

Risks & mitigants

Thin earnings

EBITDA is ₹22.7 lakh and family pay is 2.8 times that. Mitigant: EBITDA before family pay is ₹86.3 lakh; the cost of replacing management is for the buyer to size in diligence.

FY26 unaudited

A full year has closed since the last audit. Mitigant: management accounts go into the data room, and bids can be conditional on audited FY26.

Negative net worth

Net worth is ₹(46.3) lakh and the current ratio 0.57. Mitigant: bank debt is nil; debt-like items of ₹90.6 lakh are quantified and can be settled through price.

Key-man

Design, regulator and supplier relationships appear to converge on the promoter. Mitigant: all directors exit under a defined handover; retention terms are open for negotiation.

Currency

Foreign-currency spend of ₹207.1 lakh against ₹13.4 lakh of export earnings leaves a net short of 37.6% of revenue. Mitigant: order-based quotes can be repriced; no hedging is evidenced.

Approvals and IP title

The approval, defence registrations, licences, brands and drawings are management-stated, and their legal holder and change-of-control terms are unconfirmed. Mitigant: certificates and title documents precede bids.

Product liability

Sport aviation carries accident exposure; contingent liabilities are nil in the accounts but claims and insurance history are not provided. Mitigant: both go into the data room.

Customer concentration untested

No customer-wise data exists in the file, so concentration is unknown. Mitigant: the three-year customer register is a first-tranche data-room item.

11

Process & next steps

1 · NDASigned NDA releases the named summary.
2 · Data roomCustomer register, approvals, FY26 accounts, management meeting.
3 · Indicative offersOffers on a 100% share-sale basis.
4 · DiligenceConfirmatory diligence and definitive agreements.

All communication runs through CA Dhiraj Ostwal & Co. — Transaction Advisory, quoting Project Skylark (SEL-101). Direct approaches to the company, its directors or its staff are not permitted.

Disclaimer. This summary is prepared by CA Dhiraj Ostwal & Co. from information supplied by the company, which has not been independently verified. It is not an offer or a recommendation, and no representation or warranty is given as to accuracy or completeness. Management figures, including the order book and FY26 sales, are unaudited. Recipients must rely on their own enquiries and keep this document strictly confidential.

 

Express Your Interest

×